Crew lists for the Cambridge University Women's Boat Club Trial VIII's races today | Sport at Cambridge skip to content

Sport at Cambridge


Crew lists for the Cambridge University Women's Boat Club Trial VIII's races today

Cambridge University Women’s Boat Club (CUWBC) has announced the line-ups for the two crews which will take on the traditional “Trial Eights” today Monday 10th December 2018.

Chief Coach Robert Weber has selected two evenly matched crews who will race each other over the full 4¼ mile Boat Race course from Putney to Mortlake at 13:37 this afternoon. The Trial Eights race is designed to give squad members the closest possible rehearsal for the Boat Race and will followed by an Umpire’s launch, exactly as they will on 7th April next year.

The selected rowers and coxes are drawn from 10 of the Cambridge University Colleges with both crews containing a mix of rowers who have learned to row through their college at Cambridge, at school and also those who have represented their country at World Championships level.

The squad will be racing as "Curie" and "Suttner". These names come from the first two women to win Nobel Prizes, since Dec. 10, our race day, is the day of the annual Nobel Prize ceremony. Marie Curie was the first woman to win a Nobel Prize, in 1903 for her study (alongside her husband Pierre Curie) of radioactivity. She is the only person ever to have won two Nobel Prizes-- her second was chemistry in 1911 for her discovery of radium and polonium.

Bertha von Suttner was the second female Nobel Prize winner; she won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1905. She was a leader in the international peace movement and wrote the influential book Lay Down Your Arms. The team are proud to race in honour of these women, all female Nobel Prize winners, and all those who have followed in their footsteps to contribute in research for science and society.

The 2018 CUWBC Trial Eights Crews are:


Cox: Hugh Spaughton (Jesus)

8: Pippa Whittaker (Christ’s)

7: Kate Horvat (Jesus)

6: Sophie Deans (Murray Edwards)

5: Tricia Smith (Christ’s)

4: Naomi Pygott (Peterhouse)

3: Adriana Perez-Rotondo (Newnham)

2: Rebecca Dell (Christ’s)

1: Charlotte Jackson (Jesus)


Cox: Catriona Bourne (Magdalene)

8: Emma Andrews (Pembroke)

7: Ida Jacobsen (Newnham)

6: Lily Lindsay (Pembroke)

5: Abigail Parker (Emmanuel)

4: Larkin Sayre (Emmanuel)

3: Laura Foster (Queens’)

2: Fanny Belais (Kings’)

1: Sally O’Brien (Peterhouse)

The Goldie Boathouse, Kimberley Road, Cambridge, CB4 1HJ, United Kingdom

Live tweeting from the race will be available via @theboatraces

For more details go to

The Boat Races take place on Sunday 7the April 2019

The Women’s Boat Race 2:15pm

The Men’s Boat Race 3:15pm