Sports Awards - Shortlists | Sport at Cambridge skip to content

Sports Awards - Shortlists



We're pleased to announce the shortlist for the inaugural University of Cambridge Sports Awards 2020!

Club of the Year 

CU Cycling Club 
CU Fencing Club
CU Dancesport
CU Powerlifting Club


Team of the Year 

CU Women's Basketball Club - Blues
Rob Walker, Seb Dickson, John Mulvey - CU Cycling Club 
CU Lawn Tennis Club - Women's Blues
CU Small-bore Rifle Team


Sports Person of the Year

Coreen Grant - CU Rugby Union Football Club
Fiona Bunn - CU Orienteering Club
Louise Shanahan CU Athletic Club & CU Hare & Hounds
Lucy Hart - CU Powerlifting Club


Unsung Hero 

Henry Stuart-Turner - CU Swimming and Water Polo Club
Holly Tasker - CU Cricket Club
Joa Hoshizaki - CU Women's Ice Hockey Club
Owain Houghton - CU Hockey Club
Phil O'Dell - CU Hare & Hounds


Sports Club Personality

Alex Petter - CU Cycling
Anna Saunter - CU Women's Lacrosse Club
Jack Peacock - CU Lacrosse Club
Jonathan Williams - CU Pythons American Football Club
Tabbi Reed - CU Netball Club


Sporting Moment

Alex Schlindwein - CU Fencing Club - Varsity Match
Coreen Grant - CU Rugby Union Football Club - Varsity Match
CU Hockey Club - Women's Blues Varsity Match
John Harrison - CU Association Football Club - Falcons Varsity


Outstanding Contribution 

Angus Buttar - CU Association Football Club 
Ben Tinkler Davies - CU Swimming and Water Polo Club
Felicia Chang - CU Olympic Gymnastics Club, CU Touch Rugby Club & CU Ultimate Club
John Harrison - CU Association Football Club 
Robyn Macrae - CU Polo Club
Tricia Smith - CU Women's Boat Club


Whilst the Sports Awards 2020 event has been cancelled, we are still proceeding with the awards. We'll announce one winner each day from the 22nd - 29th April!